Project name:

GCF Taskforce (Governors’ Climate & Forests Taskforce)

Project description:

Seven (7) Indonesian governors have joined together to find ways to stop deforestation and fight climate change. The seven governors come from the most forested provinces in Indonesia: Aceh, Central Kalimantan, West Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, Papua, and West Papua. The governors belong to the Governors’ Climate & Forests Task Force (GCF) which is a unique sub-national alliance of 35 provinces and states from eight countries including Indonesia. GCF Members are collaborating on efforts to reduce deforestation, engaging indigenous people and the private sector in these efforts. In 2014, GCF Governors signed the Rio Branco Declaration, pledging to reduce deforestation by 80 percent by 2020 and inviting the private sector to make this goal possible.

teras-narang-rb-declaration-1024x680 GCF Taskforce (Governors' Climate & Forests Taskforce)
Hon. Governor Teras Narang (now former governor of Central Kalimantan), and Hon. Governor Tiao Viana (Acre) sign the Rio Branco Declaration in the state of Acre (Brazil), 2014

GCF Country Coordination – Indonesia

The GCF is organized through its Secretariat in Boulder, Colorado, and managed by four Country Coordinator hubs in Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico and Peru. INOBU is the GCF Country Coordinator for Indonesia. As Country Coordinator for the GCF, INOBU provides research, technical and logistical assistance to the GCF Members to support their transition to low emissions rural development. INOBU is assisting the Members to strengthen the forest management unit (FMU), building partnerships with the private sector, and ensuring that the development of low-emissions economies is done with the active involvement of indigenous peoples and smallholder farmers.