Governors’ Climate & Forests Task Force (GCF) Indonesia

Featured Video Play Icon

Seven Indonesian governors have joined together to find ways to stop deforestation and fight climate change. The seven governors come from the most forested provinces in Indonesia: Aceh, Central Kalimantan, West Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, Papua, and West Papua. The governors belong to the Governors’ Climate & Forests Task Force (GCF) which is a unique sub-national alliance of 35 provinces and states from eight countries including Indonesia. GCF Members are collaborating on efforts to reduce deforestation, engaging indigenous people and the private sector in these efforts. In 2014, GCF Governors signed the Rio Branco Declaration, pledging to reduce deforestation by 80 percent by 2020 if they receive adequate support and inviting the private sector to make this goal possible.

The GCF is organized through its Secretariat in Boulder, Colorado, and managed by four Country Coordinator hubs in Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico and Peru. INOBU is the GCF Country Coordinator for Indonesia.

Lambrie-and-Others Governors’ Climate & Forests Task Force (GCF) Indonesia

GCF Country Coordination – Indonesia

As Country Coordinator for the GCF, INOBU provides research, technical and logistical assistance to the GCF Members to support their transition to low emissions rural development. INOBU is assisting the Members to build partnerships with the private sector, and ensuring that the development of low-emissions economies is done with the active involvement of indigenous peoples and smallholder farmers.

GCF Annual Meeting, Balikpapan, East Kalimantan – September 2017

Save the date to attend the GCF Annual Meeting, which returns to Indonesia in 2017.