GCF Indonesia Work Plan for Implementation of the Rio Branco Declaration

The Indonesian provinces of Aceh, Central Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, Papua, West Kalimantan and West Papua are members of the Governors’ Climate and Forests Task Force (GCF) (now joined by North Kalimantan as of August 2016). The Indonesian GCF Provinces account for 58% of the areas with forest cover and 64% of peat land and peat forest areas in Indonesia. Six Indonesian GCF Provinces signed the Rio Branco Declaration in 2014, in which each province committed to:

  • Continue reducing deforestation by up to 80 per cent by 2020 if adequate, sufficient, and long-term performance-based funding is available, through market or non-market sources;
  • Develop partnerships with private sector initiatives that leverage the opportunities available through jurisdictional programs; and
  • Ensure that a substantial share of any additional pay-for- performance benefits that flow to our jurisdictions will be dedicated to forest-dependent communities, smallholders, and indigenous peoples.

In July 2015, the six provincial governments agreed to implement a detailed work plan. The work plans focuses on three areas (or pillars):

  1. Strengthening Forest Management Units (FMU) and controlling spatial planning and the
    processes for issuing licenses and permits;
  2. Building partnerships with the private sector to ensure that commodity supply chains are
    environmentally friendly; and
  3. Ensuring that low emission rural development benefits indigenous people and small-scale farmers in forest areas.

To learn more about the work plan, download the Work Plan Report here.